Refilling the Jug

Autumn Leaves

I’ve suffered from writer’s block lately. It’s hard to create when your trying too hard. So I ignore the advice to write anything, and let myself replenish the jug.

During my rest time I read. Most of the time I stick to one book at a time, but I decided to create a tasting menu of different things. I am reading bit by bit, Anne Lamott’s Small Victories. I’ve highlighted certain passages and make some notes about some of the ideas that come to me as I mull over her wise, funny words.

I am slowly savoring a simply wonderful book that was recommended by Katrina Kenison, called The Shape of a Year, by Jean Hersey. Written in 1947, Hersey’s writing is slow and mindful. Her descriptions of the land surrounding her home in Connecticut stir the imagination. The simple illustrations add charm to her monthly reflections on how the…

View original post 152 more words

About Jane Wilson

Jane Wilson graduated from the University of Michigan Law School, was a trial attorney for 25 years and has served on the faculty of the National Institute for Trial Advocacy on numerous occasions. She was an Adjunct Professor of Law at Cleveland State University for several years and served as an Interim Associate Professor of Law in the clinical program at Case Law School. In 2009, she returned to the small southwestern Michigan community where she was raised, and wrote a novel.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

