Off the Shoulders

From the Laundry Room

For my father on Father’s Day.

I forgive you.  It’s okay.

I’m letting go because that is what is best for me.  The weight of it, the lack of story, tradition, history, has simply become too heavy for me to carry any longer.

I’m not sure when pain started attaching itself to me, when the missed, ignored and forgotten became a part of me.  It was somewhere between that Christmas and my wedding.  I’m sure I picked up some more around the time my children were old enough to ask, “Who’s your dad?  Do you look like him?”

Every now and then when I was growing up, usually when I least expected it, something would strike tender.  I’d realize I was different until what was missing seeped in and became anger, sarcasm, envy.

This isn’t a tragic story, in fact, it’s quite banal really. No drama, misunderstandings or wasted years trying, in vain, to get along, make it work.  The truth is there…

View original post 264 more words

About Jane Wilson

Jane Wilson graduated from the University of Michigan Law School, was a trial attorney for 25 years and has served on the faculty of the National Institute for Trial Advocacy on numerous occasions. She was an Adjunct Professor of Law at Cleveland State University for several years and served as an Interim Associate Professor of Law in the clinical program at Case Law School. In 2009, she returned to the small southwestern Michigan community where she was raised, and wrote a novel.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

