A Guide to Carpe Diem (or How to Seize the Day)

Growing Ivy

This week we are visiting my grandpa, and he was able to meet and play with his great granddaughter. As I watch a sweet family memory form before my eyes, it can be a complicated emotionafter my husband died earlier this year. My approach to life and living “in the moment” has radically transformed.

IMG_7742 - Version 2Carpe diem. Seize the day. I am sure you have heard this sentiment whispered, shouted, and pasted on the walls of waiting rooms and Facebook. I repeat it again here because truth never becomes cliche. Indeed, don’t waste time. It is not something you get back; none of us can afford to say “in the meantime.”

Last year, my husband was alive, and this year he is gone. This year, my husband was not here when I introduced our baby girl to my own grandfather. Ivy’s daddy no longer exists in that form, and now we…

View original post 524 more words

About Jane Wilson

Jane Wilson graduated from the University of Michigan Law School, was a trial attorney for 25 years and has served on the faculty of the National Institute for Trial Advocacy on numerous occasions. She was an Adjunct Professor of Law at Cleveland State University for several years and served as an Interim Associate Professor of Law in the clinical program at Case Law School. In 2009, she returned to the small southwestern Michigan community where she was raised, and wrote a novel.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

